Super Bowl Ads: It’s Music to the Ears of All Marketers

No Doubt, the Super Bowl ads from last night were great. Some much better than others. But with the trend of sappy, serious, heartfelt commercials, none really stood out. Don’t get me wrong I love those ads just as much as the next person but I crave the ads that go against the grain. Companies spend millions on one 30 second spot and for what? How do you get the viewers to really remember your message? How do you get them talking for days about your well thought out, extremely creative, and very expensive commercial? Admittedly, it’s tough! But companies need to stand out and when they all do the same thing… it doesn’t work. There were a lot of great commercials this year, I’d just like to see more diversity.

So aaanyway, with that said…

Yes, I’m that girl that actually enjoys watching commercials. Super Bowl or not. But on the day of the big game advertisers and marketers have a field day trying to win the hearts, laughs, thoughts, tweets, attention of the viewers. So in all it’s cliche-ness glory, I’ll ask the question… who really won this year’s Super Bowl?

Here are my favorites of the night:

Budweiser’s Puppy Love leaked online before the big game but still melted my heart.

Microsoft’s Empowering commercial was inspiring and genuine.

I’m all for the small business. This Come On Bring the Toys ad for GoldieBlox was fun and I loved it.

Chrysler made me want to buy with their cool America’s Import ad.

How cute was the Gracie ad for Cheerios?

Thank you, Budweiser, for sharing this welcome story. And thank you, soldiers, for your service and our freedom.

A lot of people are giving Coca-Cola heat for their America the Beautiful spot. I actually, quite like it.

The Time Machine ad for Doritos just might take the top spot on my list.

Chevrolet with it’s Life spot was simple and touching.

Dad’s Sixth Sense bit for Hyundai was pretty clever, too.

And then there was a very well played move from Esurance. Buying the first spot right after the conclusion of the game to save $1.5 million, and instead give that money to one very lucky viewer. A Twitter sweepstakes was announced, calling all viewers to tweet #EsuranceSaves30, giving them the chance to win. What?! Easy. Done. Esurance, maybe we should call you the winner in overtime? It’s genius really. Plus, that could be you eating guac off a money table with John Krasinski… that alone is a win in my book.

And here’s the last one, I promise. Advertising is just too much fun! JC Penney was Tweeting With Mittens. I like what you did here.

So what were your favorites of the night? See any other creative social media stunts?

Leave a Reply

